Chronology of Oyo Kingdom’s Alaafins

Chronology of Oyo Kingdom’s Alaafins

- in History

The Oyo Empire was a Yoruba empire of what is today Western and North central Nigeria. Established in the 15th century, the Oyo Empire grew to become one of the largest West African states. It rose through the outstanding organizational skills of the Yoruba, wealth gained from trade and its powerful cavalry. The Oyo Empire was the most politically important state in the region from the mid-17th to the late 18th century, holding sway not only over most of the other kingdoms in Yorubaland, but also over nearby African states, notably the Fon Kingdom of Dahomey in the modern Republic of Benin to the west.

The Alaafin of Oyo ADEYEMI I reigned between 1876-1905

892 Oranyan – Oyo-Ile was found
1042 Ajaka Dada
1077 Tella Oko –known as Sango Afonja
1137 Ajaka
1177 Aganju Sola
1300 Kori – Osogbo and Ede were found
1357 Oluaso
1471 Portugal 1st contact with Yoruba cities
1472 Eko is named LAGOS by the Portuguese
1530 – 1542 Onigbogi
1512 Ofinran – Saki was found
1534 Egungun Oju – Igboho was found
Nupe occupied Oyo- Ile
1554 Orompoto
1562 Ajiboye
1570 Abipa – Oyo-Ile rebuilt
1588 Obalokun – salt (Sodium Cloride)
introduced in domestic use into Yoruba Land Alaafin set envoys to court in Portugal
1600 Aja
1658 Odarawu
1660 Karan
1665 Jayin – 1 st Awujale of Ijebu appointed
1676 Ayibi – Oyo spanned 150.00 km2
1690 Osiyago – 1728 Oyo stats invade Dahomey
1732 Gberu
1738 Amuniwaye
1742 Onisile – 1748 subjugating the Dahomey
1750 Labisi – spent in the throne only 15 days committed suicide because of Basorun Gaha
1750 Awonbioju – spent 130 days in the throne
1750 Agboluaje – 1754 stars decline in the Empire with intrigues of Basorun Gaha
1772 Majeogbe
1774-1789 Abiodun
1789-1796 Awole
1796-1797 Adebo
1797-1798 Maku
1801-1827 Majeotu – Fulani seized Ilorin + 1823 Dahomey revolt
1827-1834 Amodo
1834-1837 Oluewu – 1835 Empire collapse, razed by the Fulani Jihad
Are-Ona Kakanfo Afonja , master of Illorin, invited a Fulani scholar of Islam called Alim al Salih into his ranks. He hoped to secure the support of Yoruba Muslims and volunteers from the Hausa-Fulani north in keeping Ilorin independent, but no succeed and Oyo collapse.
1838-1858 Atiba Atobatele– 1838 Ago d’Oyo – New Oyo founded
The center of Yoruba power moved to Ibadan , a Yoruba war camp settled by Oyo commanders in 1830.
1859-1875 Adelu agunloye – 1857 Britain abolish slavery
1864 Alaafin stopped Batedo War in the name of Sango between Ijebu + Egbas
1876-1905 Adeyemi I
1888 Oyo became a protectorate of Great Britain
1905-1911 Agogo Ija Amubieya Lawani
1911-1944 Ladigbolu I
1914 Amalgation Frederik Lugard united north and south as colony + Protectorate Nigeria
The name Nigeria was taken from the Niger River . Given by Flora Shaw who later married Lugard
1945-1954 Adeyemi II
1956-1968 Ladigbolu II
1971 till date ……….Adeyemi III



Facebook Comments

Leave a Reply

You may also like